The Little Hoot

 The Big Hoot Education Programme – ‘The Little Hoot’

The Little Hoot is an integral part of the Haier Big Hoot which has brought together 56 schools from across Auckland city. The schools have participated in a curriculum based education programme, combined with a creative art project. All of these schools have designed and crafted their own ‘mini’ owlets which will also stand tall alongside the Big Hoot trail.

The enthusiasm and commitment put in by the teachers and students has been amazing, as they tell stories of their community, heritage, culture and the beauty of our city.

All the owlets are now being publicly exhibited in local clusters ‘parliaments’ for the duration of the event.  Complementing and adding real value to the main Big Hoot trail, and showcasing the creativity of Auckland’s youngest citizens, before being returned to their schools.

You can find all the owlets by downloading the The Big Hoot 2018 App or the downloadable trail map,  encouraging people to get together, explore their city on foot and enjoy sculpture spotting!

So what are you waiting for? We look forward to seeing you on the trail!

For more information please contact:



Arahoe School

Avondale Primary School

Bailey Road School

Bairds Mainfreight Primary School

Baradene College of the Sacred Heart

Baverstock Oaks School

Beachhaven Primary School

Birkenhead Primary School

Blockhouse Bay Primary School

Botany Downs Secondary College

Central Auckland Specialist School

Formally Carlson School for Cerebral Palsy

Cockle Bay School

Colwill School Massey

Diocesan School For Girls

Edendale Primary School

Edmund Hillary School

Ellerslie School

Gladstone Primary School

Hay Park School

Howick College

Huapai District School

Kaurilands Primary School

Kowhai Intermediate School

Kristin Junior School

Laingholm Primary School

Manurewa South School

Marist School Mt Albert

Mellons Bay School

Meraki Montessori Primary

Misson Heights Junior College

Monte Cecilia Catholic School

Mt Albert Primary School

Mt Eden Normal Primary School

New Lynn School

Northcross Intermediate

Onehunga Primary School

Owairoa Primary School

Pakuranga Heights School

Pakuranga Intermediate School

Point Chevalier School

Point England School

Puhinui School

Pukekohe High School

Robertson Road School

Saint Kentigern College

Saint Kentigern Girl’s School

St Peter’s College, Auckland

Summerland School

Sunnynook Primary School

Sylvia Park School

Waiheke High School

Waikowhai Primary School

Wainui School

Wairau Intermediate School

Woodlands Park School